An Indian Premier League (IPL) match is a Twenty20 cricket match played in India between teams composed of professional players. The match is played in a double round-robin format, with each team playing each other twice. Each team plays two home matches and two away matches each season. The tournament usually lasts around two months. It is the most watched domestic cricket league in the world and attracts some of the biggest names in cricket. Each team is captained by an Indian cricket legend and matches are played in some of the biggest cricket stadiums in the country. The IPL champion is decided based on the points table at the end of the regular season.

The most popular Indian Premier League team is the Mumbai Indians. The team, based in Mumbai, is owned by Reliance Industries and is captained by Rohit Sharma. Other popular IPL teams include the Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals.